Back to compositions

Spirit Travels


Orchestra version

For + std doublings,, timp, 3 perc, pno, and strings.

Score: pdf

Alternate versions:

Spirit Travels evokes the journeys of one’s spirit through this world and the beyond. It is a tone poem in two consecutive parts: the first is bright, colorful, and energetic, while the second is introspective and lyrical (and prominently features the piano). Beside many common musical motives, a noble horn melody links both parts, suggesting both transformation by one’s travels as well as calls to and experiences of something greater than ourselves.

The work is composed in memory of Jane Kim. Her bright smile shines throughout the work. Jane was a dear friend not only to myself, but to many around her as well. I have sought to represent these various friendships with Jane through tributes by different solo instruments. The Brucknerian quality of the horn solo is inspired by our shared love and experiences of Bruckner. Near the end of the work, I have included a small quote of the first movement of Brahms Symphony no. 4, which Jane conducted on our last program together as conducting students at Juilliard in 2018. I remember so vividly watching her conduct that day, and feeling that the performance was a full blossoming of all her talents, hard work, and passion for music making.