Back to compositions

Four Pieces for Piano


For solo piano.

Score: pdf

This work was written for my dear friend Julia Hamos. It is a set of four small pieces, each varying wildly in character:

  1. A "celebration", full of radiance, and in a flowing tempo.
  2. A bit mysterious, and in a slow, very free tempo. Echoes of Debussy (who himself echoed Wagner).
  3. A moderate toccata, alternating between quietly agitated (though somewhat playful) and furioso characters.
  4. Slow. Feelings of resignation and loss.